Lent – The start of remembering what is really important.

Oh Lent… we meet again! As a Christian, starting today, I will be giving up something that will help me to become a better woman and disciple of Christ.  This year I have chosen to give up “bad food” and negative thoughts.

What constitutes as bad food? Bad food, for me, is fried food, mac and cheese, hot dogs, an entire box of Mike and Ike’s, ice cream… I think you get the point.  So, why negative thoughts, as well? I would like to be more confident in myself.  Confidence will set me apart from people and bring me closer to Him. Instead of spending so much of my time worrying about how I look and what others think of me, I need to be proud of who I am and who God has shaped me to be.  Matthew 6:31-33 in the Bible explains this best:

“So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” – Matthew 6:31-33

What I love most about that verse is how real it is… There is no reason to worry because you will waste a beautiful day worrying. Cast all of your worries unto Him. He knows what is best for us.  I will end with one more Bible verse…

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”
– Matthew 6:34

Leave a Reply

