Cheers to the good life

Readers… please forgive me. I have been so busy! Blogging was far down on my to-do list. Now that the bulk of my busyness has subsided… let me start fresh by summing up the first half of 2013 in five paragraphs.

I can honestly say that I am happier than I have ever been in a long time.  This year, although it is only the end of May, has already surpassed many years in the past. My amazing year began by traveling to England with some of my best friends and classmates. I completely fell in love with the city of London. I am counting down the days until I return to the beautiful and vibrant city.  During the trip to England, I grew closer to classmates that I never expected to become friends with. I am eternally grateful.

The school year was incredibly busy, but so rewarding. I recently became a member of the SGA at Stevenson and I have not been the same since. Members of the SGA have transformed me! Before this year, I was not very happy. Many things were not happening in my favor, until SGA listed an opening for the Director of Community Outreach. Hesitantly, I applied for the position and got the job! I also received an internship position at the 1840s Plaza in Baltimore. Needless to say, I had a lot on my plate for the spring semester.  

My full plate was overflowing, unfortunately, which led to me “retiring” from softball.  Most people who had to “retire” say that it was one of the worst decisions of their life… I beg to differ. Because of my early retirement, I had the opportunity to experience things I never would have experienced before.  Thanks to SGA, I realized this sooner rather than later. SGA even opened my eyes to how truly great my life is. I made lifelong friends, was granted an opportunity to participate in a week long leadership conference called Baltimore Leadershape, and I fell even deeper in love with my college. I cannot wait to see what the fall semester has in store for me at Stevenson!

The cherry on top of my year (so far) has been visiting Pittsburgh to attend the Eastern Communication Association conference and being the bridesmaid for my cousin Tara.  First: Pittsburgh. I experienced this new city (which I adore), learned many interesting communication theories, narrowed down what my research paper will be written on for next year’s conference, and made new friends! I am so thrilled with this experience. For my cousin’s wedding… it was incredible. I am so blessed to have been a bridesmaid. Tara looked stunning. She and her husband, Randy, are perfect for each other.  God certainly worked his magic on those two.  There is no better word to describe that wedding other than “blissful”. Even the most stressful moments were coated with bliss. Congrats to Tara and Randy. I wish them nothing but the best!

To sum all of this up, I absolutely love 2013 so far.  Last year, I would say that I hit rock bottom (which may be a bit of a stretch), but the only way left to go is up.  That statement holds water for me. I am so thankful for that! God has amazing plans for me! Cheers to finishing 2013 the way it started… absolutely amazing.

Leave a Reply

