Miss Fit: “But I don’t want to go to the gym!”

Some of my friends compliment me and say they envy my vivacious and energetic disposition.  When they say this to me, I cannot help but laugh.  To some degree… yes I am very active and animated. However, everyone has a day (or two) where they feel it is necessary to stay in bed and channel their inner sloth.  For a fitness freak, we call these days our “rest days.”

This morning I woke up and had NO desire to go to the gym.  Nevertheless, I knew that today was not a rest day or a day to be sloth-like.  As I was crawling out of bed, I was thinking of every possible alternative to burn the calories necessary for the day in lieu of going to the gym. I could play Just Dance on Wii, throw the football with my friend, run around the backyard with the dog, or even take a long walk on the bike trail around town.  At this point, I was set on skipping the gym until I looked in the mirror.  No, I did not look in the mirror and see a girl who was unhappy with the way she looked. I looked in the mirror and saw a girl losing her drive and motivation. If you remember from my post on Monday, the last time I lost my motivation, my body and mind suffered from it.  Not this time.

All it takes is ONE (yes, one) day to start a bad habit. In my case, skipping the gym for one day will encourage me to do it again another day. “If I did not go one day last week and feel fine, I can do it again!”  One day will turn in to two days. Two days will turn in to three days. Eventually you will find yourself never going to the gym.  Everyone has a day when he or she wakes up and says, “But I don’t want to go to the gym!” However, not everyone will wake up feeling that way and say, “I don’t want to go, but I am going to the gym!” Be that person! Be the person who, despite their mind trying to convince them otherwise, will go to the gym! (This can pertain to anything, as well, not just going to the gym.)

I was set on staying home from the gym today. Instead, I chose to go regardless of my lack of motivation. Yet, seeing the girl in the mirror that used to choose the easy route every week turned out to be my motivation. I was motivated; I just needed a little reminder.  Now, I love the post-workout feeling and I am ready to take on the day! Stay motivated, stay strong, and stay fit! You can do it!

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit. — Aristotle

Leave a Reply

