Miss Fit: Professional Athletes and Motivation

I follow many professional athletes on Twitter and read their tweets for motivation or to be reminded that they are “normal” just like the rest of us.  The only difference is that they are under a spotlight most of the time and instead of a 9-5 job at a local business, they practice, lift, play games, and go on interviews.  I’d like to focus on the motivation they provide me, though (go figure).

I read a tweet yesterday from a player on the Washington Redskins, Adam Carriker, which read:

“@AdamCarriker94: What’s my secret? It’s a new supplement called “GET UP and work your butt off EVERY day!””

Admittedly, when I first read this I was irritated that he said that. The excuse-maker inside of me said, “Of course you can say that, Adam! You get paid to get up and work your butt off every day. Those of us who work an average 9-5 job and struggle to find the time to work out can’t just do that.” Blah, blah, blah… complaint, complaint, complaint… excuse, excuse, excuse.

Sorry, Adam. I did not mean what I originally said. It was my rest day and I am strapped for cash this week. In all honesty, that tweet is very motivational and we CAN get up and work our butts off every day. Like I always say in my Miss Fit blog posts, you need to find that motivation.  Yes. Adam Carriker does exercise for a living, but his words can be used for anything, not just exercise.  If you are looking for motivation specific to exercise, take his words exactly how he says them, then.  You work from 9-5? Okay. Get up an hour earlier and hit the gym or use an exercise tape (I’m a 90’s kid. I still refer to videos/dvds/movies as VHS tapes). Work your butt off while exercising, at work, at school, at parenting, or what have you. Give one-hundred percent of your efforts one-percent of the time.

Thanks for the advice, Adam Carriker. You are one hell of a football player and your tweets never fail to entertain and motivate me.  I hope you all felt a little motivated from this post today.  Also, give Adam Carriker a follow on Twitter: @AdamCarriker94.

I will end my Miss Fit blog post like I always do… with a motivational quote (you get two this time)!

“The winners in life think constantly in terms of I can, I will, and I am.  Losers, on the other hand, concentrate their waking thoughts on what they should have or would have done, or what they can’t do.” – Dennis Waitley

Leave a Reply

