Quiet Your Inner Voice

As you may remember from previous posts, I attended a conference in August called Leadershape.  This conference changed me A LOT. I promised to blog about my experience and I am doing so in a way that you may or may not care for. In one week, I learned more about myself than I have in my entire twenty-one years of existence.  This may sound foolish and the things I reveal to you may seem obvious, but attending this conference affected me in an unforgettable way and I wanted to share it with my readers. In order to explain my experiences, I am going to write different blogs each week to reminisce the conference. This week’s Leadershape blog is about quieting your inner voice. So, here we go.

At least once in your life you have told yourself that you couldn’t do something or told yourself to procrastinate, right? I sure hope I am not the only one… Before Leadershape, I did this every single day. Every single day I found a way to convince myself that I wasn’t going to get hired after graduation, I am not smart enough, I am not pretty enough, or something as simple as “just do it tomorrow.” Now, this sounds more dramatic than it really was. I didn’t walk around talking to myself saying “you’re ugly, dumb, and you need to procrastinate.” Typically, I procrastinated at least once a day or said I wasn’t able to do something.

Why do we do this to ourselves? I hate to assume you all do this… but I can almost guarantee you have once or twice in your lifetime. Whoever coined the phrase “we are our own worst critic” was not lying! On the fourth day in Leadershape, we watched a video about Benjamin Zander, the conductor for the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra. If you are not familiar with Mr. Zander, take a moment to look him up. He is truly inspiring. Mr. Zander provides tips for people on how to enjoy your life through the good times and the bad. I will not give you every single tip, because I want you to take time to research him a little yourself. I will, however, share with you my favorite tip.

Quiet your inner voice. Boy did I need that tip. My inner voice is louder than my “outer” voice (and that is pretty loud, trust me). Inner voices tend to take over our life and keep us from living it to the fullest, don’t you think? I know it is hard to quiet each thought that flows through our minds and by no means am I telling you to do that. I am suggesting that you become conscience of those voices and realize that they are just bringing you down. What I like to do is focus on the positives. This seems so cliché, but I finally believe there is something to this. Disregard the negative voices and channel the positive voices.

How do you do it? Well, it has been a challenge. One of the first things I did was cut out the negative Nancies in my life.  If you are trying to get rid of the negative thoughts, or at least drown them out, you cannot surround yourself with actual voices speaking negatively. Pessimism is contagious, unfortunately. It is easy to wallow in your sorrows. Try something different and challenge yourself focus on the positives!

If you are interested in learning more tips for life, visit http://www.benjaminzander.com. Research him a little and hopefully you find the video that changed my perspective on life. Quiet those inner thoughts!

Leave a Reply

