Is revenge sweet?

There comes a time in life when someone will do something that frustrates you, offends you, or just makes you feel like dirt. This happened to me recently and I intended to get back at the person. I figured that if they can attack me, I could attack them.  Instead of acting on impulse, I sat down and thought about how I felt, vented to a few people, and finally turned to the bible for the final opinion.

I bought myself a study bible a while back when I saw my friend using one at church. What is great about a study bible is that the scriptures have explanations and examples so things are relatable to young adults. In the back of the book are words such as love, marriage, money, choices, and change. These words have scriptures listed underneath to reference. Today, I looked for the word revenge and found the perfect verse for my situation.

Romans 12:17-21 states, “Never pay back evil with more evil. Do things in such a way that everyone can see you are honorable. Do all that you can to live in peace with everyone. Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the scriptures say, “I will take revenge; I will pay them back,” says the Lord. Instead, “If your enemies are hungry, feed them. If they are thirsty, give them something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals of shame on their heads.” Don’t let evil conquer you, but conquer evil by doing good.”

I am sure that after reading Romans 12:17-21, you can figure out what I chose to do about the person who was treating me badly. As the scripture states, I will not pay back evil with more evil. I will conquer it by doing good. I suggest this to all of you, today. Remember to let God fight our battles for us.

4 thoughts on “Is revenge sweet?

  1. If only you had posted this last year when I got even with someone who did not include me in three events with my circle of neighborhood friends. Excluded from these gatherings, I decided, after being insulted and banned three times, not to invite her to my Christmas party. If you want to call it getting even, go ahead and call it that, even though she still had two on me at that point. However, despite my distaste for her unkind ways, the better thing for me would have been to have invited her. This post shows us that it is better to be kind, even when we don’t necessarily want to be. I blogged about being nice during the holidays a couple of weeks ago, especially around the holidays. And certainly, it’s better not to get even. 🙂

    1. Oh my gosh, I remember this story. It is sad to think that there are people like her in this world. From what I remember you telling me, you tried several times to treat her well. She did not seem to care. But, you are stronger for fighting through it and her ways. Look at you now! So much happier and way better off. 🙂 It is better not to get even, though. Even if not inviting her felt great 😉

Leave a Reply

