SOTW: Of the Night by Bastille

If you have followed me for a while, you know I am in love with the band Bastille. Call me a hipster if you want (most of my friends do), but I have been following Bastille for quite some time. The radio is slowly, but surely, ruining my love for Pompeii and Bad Blood. I will never agree with radio stations playing the same ten songs on loop every single day. It is so frustrating! The song I shared with you today may make it… but I have a feeling it will stay a hidden gem! If not, I will be sure to post again saying how unfortunately wrong I am! LOL!

With that being said, I thankfully have other songs from their album that may not make it to the radio. What I mean by this is that some of Bastille’s best songs are hidden gems that you can only find on their albums. If a song is not “pop” enough, I do not think it will play on the radio. It may play on a rock station, but certainly not the “Today’s Hits” radio stations.

I am planning to see Bastille in concert again, but I would like to see them in their home country, Great Britain! One day I will have the money to get my date with Bastille and England! Anyway…. the song I chose for you is Of The Night. I chose this song because it samples from another song (Rhythm of the Night by Corona). I know that seems weird. But, it is done so well that I want to use it as an example for other musicians. I hear too many rappers poorly using samples from other artists. In my opinion, the late 80’s-early 90’s eurodance and house/dance music is making a huge comeback. This song is a fun example of how to properly sample music. Bastille never fails to impress me. I am obsessed (and will be for a very long time) with Bastille’s music. Enjoy this song and PLEASE check out more music from Bastille. Do not rely on the radio to release their talent! The picture below was taken at an acoustic set with Bastille at the British Embassy in Washington, D.C. After this set, my friend David and I went to their concert at the 9:30 Club. They are AMAZING!

bastille

Leave a Reply

