Road to Recovery: Music & Inspiration

musicDuring my stay at the hospital (which was approximately a month or so), I did not have access to my library of music. Talk about torture… not being able to emotionally cope with a traumatic situation through music was my very own hell.

I connect with music in such a unique way. For example, this morning my father was watching a movie that I would not consider to be well-known, however simply by the soundtrack I could pin point the movie within seconds. The movie was The Muse, by the way.

Growing up, like most awesome people, music was a HUGE aspect to my life. I remember some of my favorite songs as a child were by Michael Jackson, Dave Matthews Band, Van Halen, Aerosmith, Frank Sinatra, and many other artists who transformed the music industry. I love all types of music, simply put.

One song in particular resurfaced over the weekend for me which I remember hearing at some point in my life back in the day. (Have I reached the age where it is acceptable for me to say that, ha?) Given that I had not listened to any of my music in over a month, my mom and I had an amazing jam sesh to and from DC. When the song came on, I immediately perked up and my mood was influenced in such a positive way. Naturally, I used this reaction as fuel for my road to recovery.

I finally found THE song to help me kick my recovery into high gear. Let me elaborate on that a bit… I do not mean jump out of the wheelchair and go for a jog around my neighborhood. I mean I have found the song to help inspire me when I feel like I can no longer handle the stress that comes with recovery.

The song I have chosen as my recovery “theme song,” so to speak,Β is Break My Stride by Matthew Wilder. If you are unfamiliar with this song, I am not too surprised. It is an 80s hit that has been used in a few movie soundtracks over the years. However, once you listen to it, you cannot help but feel encouraged to push through despite any obstacle that potentially gets in the way of your successes.

Nothing and/or no one can break my stride while on this road to recovery. That is the mentality I, and any person battling in life, should have in order to remain positive or sane even. I’ve said it before, and I will say it again… Do not expect each day in life to be easy. If you are on the road to recovery, or have been in the past, you can confirm that the road is not called Easy Street for a reason. No matter how tough the ride can be, you have to keep on movin’.

Mentally, each day has gotten significantly tougher. Physically, I have noticed improvement, which is encouragement in and of itself. Not enough, though. This is why I am so thrilled to be reunited with my library of music. This evening, I spent a few hours exploring old music, downloading new music, and finding new ways to incorporate music into my daily routine for self-prescribed therapy.

Every person has something that never fails to bring a smile to his or her face. In my case, that something is music. What is it for you and how do you incorporate that something into your daily routine?

Take a moment to check out my road to recovery theme song. It is a catchy song that is now my ringtone and it certainly has proven to uplift my spirits. I hope it inspires you the way it has me so far… or at least you find yourself tapping your feet. πŸ™‚

xoxo,

Kristin

Leave a Reply

