Clean Eating Challenge: Take Two (and Becoming a Better You)

If you have been following my blog for at least a year, you will know that my mom and I completed Buzz Feed’s Two Week Clean Eating Challenge last summer. After completing that challenge, we both felt INCREDIBLE. I decided that, since the wedding is about 6 months away, David and I would give it a shot together. I know this is only a two week challenge, but we will be using it as our detox to begin a more strict diet.

We are not doing this diet to lose weight, we are doing this to be healthier. With birthdays, weddings, and other events, I’ve come to realize that we eat way too much sugar and other processed food lately. We feel lethargic, unmotivated, and just down right crappy. To combat this, we decided to detox and diet.

Diet
Photo Credit: Giphy.com

I will not be blogging about this challenge nearly as much as I did last summer. It just seems repetitive to hear my thoughts again. However, for you men out there who would like to hear from a fellow male detoxing and dieting. I am going to feature David on this blog! Well.. I will be featuring his comments and feedback.Β Personally, I think David’s biggest issue here will be the lack of meat. He LOVES burgers. Unfortunately, in this two week detox, there is NO red meat allowed. I love that, but he will not, haha. I am eager to hear his praises, complaints, and everything in between!

Our detox will begin on Monday, October 19. The two week detox challenge technically starts on Sunday, but we have already committed to plans Sunday that may require us to deviate from the detox. Plus, it just works better with our schedule to begin when the work week starts. For those of you who did not read my past segment about this challenge, click here.

Each day is already planned by Buzz Feed and there are strict rules which you must follow in order to successfully complete this challenge. You eat a breakfast, snack, lunch, dinner, and snack (in that order). If I remember correctly, you eat approximately 1300-1600 calories per day. The number of calories you intake depends on your weight, typically. In this case, David will intake more than me, obviously. He is much taller and weighs almost 100 pounds more than me haha. I am pretty petite. Again, I want to reiterate that this is not to lose weight, look better, or fit a magazine’s idea of the ideal body type. This is simply to feel better and healthier.

Lea Michele
Photo Credit: Amazon.com

Finally, I recently purchased Lea Michele’s book, “You First: Journal Your Way to Your Best Life.” In this book, it discusses how to be a healthier, stronger, more confident YOU. I am using it as a guide to really get myself in a better mindset since my health issues earlier this year. It inspired me to get back into my previous healthy lifestyle. I will be blogging/journaling my way to a better me (with tidbits from David, too, haha). I want to share my journey through this book with you all. I know many followers/readers who have requested blogs about this topic, so why not, right?

Let me know how you remain mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually healthy!

xoxo,
Kristin

Leave a Reply

