Choosing Your Leading Ladies (The Bridesmaids)

Now that the cat is WAY out of the bag, I can finally share who will be standing by my side while I say “I do” to my best friend. Before sharing who my bridesmaids were going to be, I wanted to send them their little “will you be my bridesmaid?” cards and soak it all in. It is such a wonderful, beautiful, time and I wanted to enjoy it with my girls before making a HUGE deal of it on my blog.

Our wedding website has listed it for a couple of months now, but only a select few (those who received a save the date) have seen our wedding website’s link. I may share the wedding website after the wedding, but for now, we wanted it to stay intimate and private.

About two, almost three, years ago, I was a bridesmaid for the first time in my cousin, Tara’s, wedding. I learned SO much from that experience. I even blogged about it later that summer. Being a bridesmaid is such an amazing honor. I was so happy when Tara asked me to be one of her leading ladies. There really is no feeling quite like someone you love and admire so dearly asking you to be a part of the happiest day of his or her life.

tara

After David and I embraced our time as a newly engaged couple, we sat down to discuss who we wanted standing by our side for the big day. It seems like it would be an easy task, but in reality, it can be very challenging. There are so many people we wanted to include, but couldn’t. Logistically, it was too complicated and a little excessive.

One thing was certain for us though, and that is our siblings would be included. We adore our siblings and they shaped us into who we have become so far. Plus, we mostly interacted with our siblings while dating. We are firm believers in blood is thicker than water. Simple as that.

family
Photo Credit: Giphy.com

Aside from siblings, individually, we have a pretty large group of friends. That did not mean each of those friends was “bridal party” material, though. We had to think of the responsibilities each person would hold, if they could (and would be willing to) take on those responsibilities, and who we imagine by our side for years to come. Most of our friends could, and would love to, take on the responsibilities of a bridesmaid or groomsmen. We were (are) lucky to have that!

But, we did have to face the fact that people we are close with now, as individuals, may not be people we interact with often in the future. Before your person and you are considered a “we,” you had people you associated with prior, right? Our rule of thumb then became, if we hadn’t interacted with this person as a couple, perhaps they should not be in our bridal party. This is, in fact, OUR day. Not his. Not hers. OURS.

With more stipulations being decided upon, our list began to shrink. Thank goodness. Our closest friends and family were on our list, but the list was still quite large. I am very close with my cousins (there are a lot of them), but I could not have a wedding party of 24…. David is close with his family too. That large of a party was just out of the question. 

Finally, we realized we knew who we wanted all along. The problem was we feared that we would offend someone or hurt their feelings. In the end, though, it is OUR day. If the people we do not include in our bridal party (or even invite to the wedding) cannot accept that, then maybe they shouldn’t be there to begin with… you know?

bridesmaids
Photo Credit: Giphy.com

Once we came to our senses and realized the obvious, choosing our bridal party was a cinch. It was then that we each chose seven people to stand by our side. I know you are thinking, “SEVEN!?” Ugh, listen, we have seven people (each) who we need as our support up there. It may seem like a lot, but in reality, it is the perfect number and we are so thrilled that they all said, “yes.”

So, without further adieu, let me introduce you to my leading ladies!

tori

First is my best friend since sixth grade, Tori. She is one of my maids of honors. (I have two… go ahead and judge me. There are no rules anymore, so leave me alone.) On the wedding website, I wrote sentimental notes to each of them. If I decide to share the site after our wedding, you can read them!

emily

Next is my second MOH, Emily! We became best friends in college and haven’t regretted that decision ever since. 😉

tara

My amazing cousin, Tara, is one of my bridesmaids. Obviously I have known her my entire life.

kel

Another college bestie, Kelly, is a bridesmaid (and a gorgeous one at that)!

kel2

Now, I have another Kelly standing by my side, but this Kelly is my sister-in-law. Although, I consider her my blood sister.

michelle.png

My new sister, Michelle, is obviously a bridesmaid. I adore this girl! ❤

krys

And last, but certainly not least, is one of David and my best friends since the start of high school, Krysten.

I cannot wait to marry the man of my dreams with each of these INCREDIBLE ladies by my side. 150 days to go!

 

Leave a Reply

